Albuquerque Air Alliance / Rt 66 Aircooled VW Club

AAA VW Club

total noob. everyone was one once, right?

Air Cooled Beetles & Bugs

total noob. everyone was one once, right?

Postby DahliaBlackCloud » Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:32 pm

Hello, I'm new here. Also new to VWs.

I'm about to purchase my first vintage bug (assuming the bug I've unearthed is worthy), and have researched extensively what to look for when buying. I'm not 100% confident that I will look at everything I need to, but I think I have the absolute basics down.

After my purchase, what should be the absolute first things I check/fix/change before I do anything else?

Any recommendations for VW resources in town? I'm also new to Albuquerque.

Any help/tips are appreciated!

Thanks!
DahliaBlackCloud

Re: total noob. everyone was one once, right?

Postby kaveh » Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:19 pm

Good brakes and tires will help keep you alive!
Addicted to old things with wheels.
kaveh

Postby weirdvolk » Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:03 am

Welcome!

From my experience with our bug I would change the brakes like Kaveh said.

Here's what I changed because it needed it.

1. Soft brake lines up front. They were internally swolen shut. I thought my master cylinder was shot.

2. Fuel lines. Didn't want the whole thing to go up in smoke. Foreign aide sells the correct cloth braided fuel line. I think the size is 5.5 mm, but they'll know for sure.

3. Fuel filter. Might as well while you change the fuel lines.

4. Plugs and wires.

5. Tires. I had waited to do this and had not one but two blow outs, the passenger rear and the spare.

Those are a few of the things I changed when we bought our bug. Some of which I wish I did right away. :shock:

-jt
|jt & vanessa|
-64 Bug
-79 Riviera Bus
weirdvolk

Postby kaveh » Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:31 am

weirdvolk wrote:1. Soft brake lines up front. They were internally swolen shut. I thought my master cylinder was shot.